Joy of Museums Virtual Tours

Virtual Tours of Museums, Art Galleries, and Historic Sites

Jane Austen Manuscript of “The History of England”

"The History of England" by Jane Austen

“The History of England” by Jane Austen – Handwritten Manuscript

“The History of England” by Jane Austen was written when the author was fifteen years old in 1791.  The work is a humorous work that pokes fun at widely used school history books of the time.

The manuscript of thirty-four pages is in Jane Austen’s hand. Thirteen watercolor miniatures accompany it by her elder sister, Cassandra. The notebook is today preserved in the British Library collection. 

In “The History of England,” Austen mockingly imitates the style of textbook histories of English monarchs, while ridiculing school history books’ pretensions to objectivity. 

The title page of Austen’s manuscript reads:

“The History of England
from the reign of
Henry the 4th
to the death of
Charles the 1st

By a partial, prejudiced, & ignorant Historian.”

The work is dedicated to Austen’s sister Cassandra with:

“To Miſs Austen, eldest daughter of the Revd
George Austen, this work is inscribed with
all due respect by
The Author”

Jane Austen’s history book has very few dates and cites as sources works of fiction such as:

  • the plays of Shakespeare
  • plays of Sheridan
  • a novel by Charlotte Turner Smith
  • and the opinions of Austen’s family and friends.

"The History of England" by Jane Austen

Title Page of Austen’s Manuscript

The accounts of English kings and queens contain comically exaggerated opinions about their characters and behavior. Austen enjoyed embellishing the stories with charades and puns on names.

While the work offered humorous vignettes on English Kings, significant attention is paid to the royal women, such as:

  • Anne Boleyn,
  • Lady Jane Grey,
  • and Mary Queen of Scots.

Jane Austen’s version of “The History of England” rebalanced the insufficiency of attention to female figures in school history books.

Mary Queen of Scots, in particular, plays an essential role in Austen’s History, receiving more generosity in her portrayal than her cousin Elizabeth I, who is treated as a tyrant.

Some years later, Austen compiled this work and 28 other writings of her early compositions by copying them into three notebooks, which she called “Volume the First,” “Volume the Second,” and “Volume the Third.”

These notebooks still exist, one in the Bodleian Library and the other two in the British Library. These three volumes are considered Austen’s Juvenilia.

None of Austen’s youthful works were published in her lifetime. Cassandra’s 13 illustrations were done after the copying was completed. 

“The History of England” has more recently been included in editions of Jane Austen’s complete works and has been published in several new publications and imprints.

"The History of England" by Jane Austen

Vignettes of early Kings of England by Cassandra Austen for her sister Jane Austen’s comedic “History of England.”

Jane Austen Juvenilia (1787–1793)

From at least the age of eleven, Austen wrote poems and stories for her family’s amusement. In these works, the details of life are exaggerated, and established plot devices are parodied.

The stories are full of stories of female agency and general high spirits. Austen compiled copies of twenty-nine works written between 1787 and 1793 into three bound notebooks, now referred to as the Juvenilia.

Among these works is a satirical novel titled “Love and Freindship,” in which she mocked popular novels of Sensibility.

When Austen was around eighteen years old,  she began to write longer, more sophisticated works with the aspiration of becoming a professional writer. 

Love and Freindship

“Love and Freindship” is a story by Jane Austen, at 15 years of age. Written in epistolary form as letters from the heroine, to the daughter of her friend.

The form may have come about due to the nightly readings by the young Jane to the Austen family.

The story with the title intentionally misspelled is a parody of romantic novels that Austen read. This approach is clear from the subtitle:

“Deceived in Freindship and Betrayed in Love.”

The story featured wild coincidences and turns of fortune, but Austen was parodying the conventions of romantic stories. The story shows the development of Austen’s wit and disdain for romantic Sensibility.

Jane Austen

Jane Austen (1775 – 1817) was known for novels, which interpret, critique, and comment upon the British landed gentry at the end of the 18th century.

Her six significant novels include:

  • Sense and Sensibility (1811),
  • Pride and Prejudice (1813),
  • Mansfield Park (1814)
  • Emma (1816),
  • Northanger Abbey and Persuasion were both published posthumously (1818).

Her six novels have rarely been out of print, although they were published anonymously and brought her moderate success and little fame during her lifetime.

Austen novels have inspired many films, critical essays, and literary anthologies.

“The History of England” by Jane Austen

“The History of England” by Jane Austen

Virtual Tour of the British Library

The History of England by Jane Austen

Virtual Tour of Ancient Texts

Jane Austen: Behind Closed Doors

Virtual Tour of Historically Influential Books

Jane Austen Country: The Life & Times of Jane Austen

Jane Austen’s “A History of England”- Performed

Jane Austen Country


“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”
― Jane Austen, Pride And Prejudice


Photo Credit: 1)Jane Austen / Public domain; Cassandra Austen (signed "CE Austen") / Public domain

Popular this Week

Museums, Art Galleries & Historical Sites - Virtual Tours
Japanese Proverbs, Quotes, and Sayings
Greek Proverbs, Quotes, and Sayings
Ancient Artifacts - Virtual Tour
Korean Proverbs, Quotes, and Sayings
Russian Proverbs and Quotes
Christian Art and Biblical Paintings
Ancient Egyptian Art and Artifacts - Virtual Tour
Mesopotamian Art and Artifacts - Virtual Tour
Mexican Proverbs, Quotes, and Sayings